Media roundup

Mark Boukes commented on the popularity of political satire shows for both the NOS and De Morgen (Belgium newspaper). He also spoke about the democratic potential of infotainment in a Volkskrant article and podcast. Sjoerd Stolwijk was in another number of interviews around his PhD about opinion polls in election campaigns. Including an article in Het […]

Read More →
Pivotal election series event on 15th March

As part of the pivotal elections series, Bert Bakker, Gijs Schumacher, Katjana Gattermann and Claes de Vreese have organised event to discuss the prospects of the upcoming Dutch election. The event will take place on 13th March, and more information can be found here. Future events in relation to the French and German elections are […]

Read More →
Deadline approaching! ECREA Political Communication Section conference

  28th February is the deadline for abstract submissions to the ECREA Political Communication Section Interim Conference. The conference itself will take place on 22-23 November 2017 in Zurich. The conference theme is ‘Political Communication in Times of Crisis: New Challenges, Trends & Possibilities’ For more information and the full call for submissions see here. Recommend […]

Read More →
Latest academic talks

Last week, Judith Möller took part in the expert panel of the Tegenlicht meet up on democracy in Pakhuis de Zwijger (see here). Andreas Schuck gave an invited lecture on “Blame it on the media? How news media frame the EU – and how it affects public opinion” at the Zuyd University of Applied Sciences Maastricht – International […]

Read More →
Perspectives on upcoming Dutch elections

CPC-related researches have been very busy with commenting on the developments and implications of the upcoming Dutch elections. Bert Bakker appeared in NPO Radio 1 Nieuws BV twice to discuss: ideological diversity in the academy (here) and as part of the weekly item Oh Oh Den Haag (here). Moreover, he was interviewed by RTL Z (here) […]

Read More →
Breakfast Roundtable: The Future of Polling & PhD defense on opinion polls

On Thursday, 16 February, the RPA Communication Lecture Series organises a breakfast roundtable on the future of polling. The roundtable participants include: Professor Patricia Moy (University of Washington), Professor Carsten Reinemann (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München), Professor Tom van der Meer (University of Amsterdam), PhD candidate Sjoerd Stolwijk (University of Amsterdam); Chair and moderator: Professor Claes de Vreese (University of Amsterdam). More information […]

Read More →
This week in the media

It’s nearly election time in the Netherlands and the race to garner votes is on! Opinion polls are at the forefront of media coverage, and Sjoerd Stolwijk gave an interview on BNR Nieuwsradio about the potential effects of polls (see here). Sjoerd defends his PhD on the same topic next week, at 12 noon on […]

Read More →
Latest media appearances

Mark Boukes was interviewed by Radio 1 about the power of satire and wrote a blog for StukRoodVlees (see here), which was picked up by NRC Handelsblad. Mark also appeared in an Parool article about the evening in De Balie (see here). Last week, Tom Dobber and Sanne Kruikemeier gave an interview to NRC about social […]

Read More →

Fatal error: Call to undefined function the_posts_pagination() in /var/www/vhosts/ on line 30