EU-elections: ACES and VICES organise the Amsterdam live-stream of the Maastricht debate

On 29 April, ACES and VICES organise the Amsterdam live-stream of the “Maastricht debate” of the candidates for the presidency of the European Commission. The debate will be followed by a discussion with Gareth Davies (VU, tbc), Katjana Gattermann (UvA), Alessandro Nai (UvA), and Lukas Otto (UvA, tbc).

Five candidates – Violeta Tomič (Party of European Left), Frans Timmermans (Party of European Socialists), Bas Eickhout (European Green Party), Guy Verhofstadt (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe) and Jan Zahradil (Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe) – will respond to concerns of students and young people from across Europe, many of whom will be first- time voters. The themes include Digital Europe, Sustainable Europe and the Future of Europe.


Entrance is free; snacks and beverages will be provided. Please register by sending an email to


University of Amsterdam, Roeterseiland Campus, REC C10.20


18:30 – 19:00: 19:00 – 20:30 20.30 – 21.00

Start of the event (Moderation: Katjana Gattermann) Candidates Debate
Post-debate roundtable (Moderation: Katjana Gattermann)

More information about the Maastricht debate can be found here: